Iconic Jazz Artists Danilo Perez, Billy Cobham, Lonnie Liston Smith
 and Vijay Iyer Among Judges

August 22, 2017 – The International Songwriting Competition (ISC) is proud to announce its Jazz judges for the 2017 competition. Established in 2002, ISC is the world’s largest songwriting competition, receiving up to 20,000 entries from all over the world and representing all genres of contemporary music.

Tapped to judge the Jazz category this year are legendary artists Danilo Perez, Billy Cobham, Lonnie Liston Smith, and Vijay Iyer. Also participating on the panel is John Burk, President of the Concord Label Group, the independent label that has become synonymous with high quality jazz artists on their roster.

“Our Jazz category has consistently been one of the best in the competition, and ISC is happy to be an advocate for this vital form of music,” said Candace Avery, the founder and director of ISC. “We are very excited to offer the opportunity for our entrants to have their music heard by such an esteemed panel of legendary jazz judges.”

ISC is truly an international songwriting competition, receiving entries from 137 countries last year. ISC is open to all songwriters, amateur or professional.

A total of 71 winners in 23 categories share in more than $150,000 in cash and prizes, including an overall Grand Prize consisting of $25,000 (US) cash and much more in merchandise and services.

Entry information is available at

ISC is sponsored by: AKG By Harman; Berklee College of Music; CAD; Celebrity Access; D'Addario; Disc Makers; Eventric; Gig Salad; JBL Professional by Harman; Lurrsen Mastering; Merch Cat; ONErpm; PreSonus; SongU; and Sweetwater Sound.

The complete panel of 2017 judges include:

Recording Artists

Lorde; Perry Farrell (Janes Addiction/Founder, Lollapalooza); Tom Waits; Ziggy Marley; American Authors; Nancy Wilson (Heart); Martie Maguire (Dixie Chicks/Courtyard Hounds); Booker T. Jones; The Mavericks; Don Omar; Sara Evans; Bastille; Keane; Hardwell; Danilo Perez; Martin Russell and James McNally (Afro Celt Sound System); Billy Cobham; Gerald Casale (Devo); Zach Williams; Natalie Grant; Jesse & Joy; Krewella; Matt Nathanson; Amadou & Miriam; Matt Maher; Ana Barbara; Kaskade; Nicky Jam; Vijay Iyer; John Mayall; Art Alexakis (Everclear); Ray Benson (Asleep At The Wheel); Joe Louis Walker; Nicholas Gunn; Vassy; Ashwin Batish; Lonnie Liston Smith; Femi Kuti; Walter Trout; Trilok Gurtu; Tommy Chong; Tony Joe White; and more.


Industry Executives

Gregg Nadel (President, Elektra Records); Seymour Stein (Chairman/CEO, Sire Records); Afo Verde (Chairman, Sony Music Latin); Daniel Glass (President, Glassnote Records); John Esposito (Chairman/CEO, Warner Music Nashville); John Burk (President, Concord Label Group); Ed Vetri (President, Wind-Up Records); Bruce Iglauer (Founder/President, Alligator Records); Steve Yegelwel (Sr. VP, Island Records); Nate Albert (Executive VP of A&R, Capitol Records); Jacob Edgar (Founder, Cumbancha); Aaron Bay-Schuck (President of A&R, Interscope Records); Mike Easterlin (President, Fueled By Ramen/Roadrunner Records); Craig Balsam (Co-Owner, Razor & Tie/Washington Square/Kidz Bop); Gordon Kerr (CEO, Black River Entertainment); Josh Bailey (Senior VP of A&R, Word Entertainment); Richard Stumpf (CEO, Atlas Publishing); Steve Greenberg (CEO, S-Curve Records); Kim Buie (VP of A&R, New West Records); Albert Schilcher (VP Music & Music Marketing, MTV International); Cory Robbins (Founder/President, Robbins Entertainment); Angel Carrasco (Latin Music Consultant); Julie Kertes (Editor/Manager, Hot Diggity Media); Laura Margolin (Publishing, Glassnote Records); Cyndi Nelson (General Manager, Zanies Comedy Club); Leib Ostrow (Founder/CEO, Music For Little People); Katherine Danes (Co-President, The Children’s Music Network); Claire S. Green (President, Parent’s Choice Foundation); Benjamin Groff (Founder, The Brill Building); Sas Metcalfe (President/Global Creative, Kobalt Music); Golnar Khosrowshahi (President, Reservoir Media Management); Carianne Marshall (Partner, Songs Music Publishing); Tamara Conniff (EVP, Roc Nation); Dara Frank (Head of Comedy Central Records, Viacom); Carl Caprioglio (Founder/CEO, Oglio Entertainment); and more to be announced.
Contact: Candace Avery
International Songwriting Competition